Minimum Wage Chart by State


Ensure State-by-State Minimum Wage Compliance 

Most states throughout the United States, 31 in fact (including Washington D.C.), have created - and continue to create - laws to update minimum wage requirements. These state minimum wage laws go above and beyond the federal minimum wage required by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

What is Minimum Wage? 

The federal minimum wage and FLSA require that the vast majority of employees regardless of state (with few exceptions), make a minimum of wage $7.25 per hour. If a state has no minimum wage requirement or law, or the minimum wage required by the state is lower than the federal minimum wage, then the federal minimum wage typically always applies for that state. Otherwise, the higher state minimum wage requirement applies. 

Each time the minimum wage requirements change, employers are required to raise standard pay rates for employees to the new minimum wage and begin compensating employees by the effective date of change. This pay increase should be reflected in the employee's pay stub on the next scheduled pay date. Employers must also display new labor law posters as a notice to employees in the workplace when laws like minimum wage change. 

Below is a table outlining state-by-state minimum wages and wage requirements to make compliance simpler for employers. 

State Minimum Wage Chart

STATE MINIMUM WAGE TIPPED WAGES NOTES & STIPULATIONS
Alabama $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Alaska


$10.85 (Until 12/31/2023)

$11.73 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$10.85 (Until 12/31/2023)

$11.73 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Employers using a voluntary flexible work hour plan approved by the Alaska Department of Labor, who schedule employees for a 10-hour day, 40-hour workweek may be eligible for premium pay after 10 hours a day instead of after 8 hours.

The premium overtime pay requirement on either a daily or weekly basis is not applicable to employers with fewer than 4 employees

Arizona


$13.85 (Until 12/31/2023)

$14.35 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$10.85 (Effective 12/31/2023)

$11.35 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $14.85 with maximum tip credit of $3.00.
Arkansas

$7.25
(Less than 4 employees)

$11.00
(4 or more employees)

$2.63 Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $11.00 with maximum tip credit of $8.37.
California


$15.50 (Until 12/31/2023)

$16.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$15.50 (Until 12/31/2023)

$16.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Many cities have varying minimum wages. The State minimum wage now applies to all employers (prior to January 1, 2023, there was a minimum wage for employers with 25 or less employees and 26 or more employees)
Colorado


$13.65 (Until 12/31/2023)

$14.42 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$10.63 (Until 12/31/2023)

$11.40 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $14.42 with maximum tip credit of $3.02.
Connecticut

$15.00 (Until 12/31/2023)

$15.69 (Effective 1/1/2024)

$6.38 (Effective 6/1/2023)
Wait Staff

$8.23 (Effective 6/1/2023)
Bartenders

Restaurant and hotel workers working a 7th day consecutively will have those hours treated as overtime.

Minors (Under 18) may be paid 85% of the minimum wage for their first 90 days of employment.

Delaware


$11.75 (Until 12/31/2023)

$13.25 (Effective 1/1/2024)

$2.23
Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $13.25 with maximum tip credit of $11.02.
District of Columbia (D.C.)

$17.00 (Effective 7/1/2023)

$8.00 (Effective 7/1/2023)

If an employee’s hourly tip earnings (averaged weekly) added to the base minimum wage do not equal the District’s full minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference.
Florida

$12.00 (Effective 9/30/2023)

$8.98 (Effective 9/30/2023)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $12.00 with maximum tip credit of $3.02.
Georgia

$7.25
(Federal Minimum)

$5.15
(for some limited FLSA exceptions)

$2.13 N/A
Hawaii $12.00 (Until 12/31/2023)

$14.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)
$12.75

Any employees that earn a guaranteed monthly compensation of $2,000 or more are exempt from minimum wage and overtime requirements.

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $14.00 with maximum tip credit of $1.25.

Idaho $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$3.35 Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $7.25 with maximum tip credit of $3.90.
Illinois


$13.00 (Until 12/31/2023)

$14.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$7.80 (Until 12/31/2023)

$8.40 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $14.00 with maximum tip credit of $5.60 (40% of the applicable minimum wage).
Indiana $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Iowa $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$4.35 Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $7.25 with maximum tip credit of $2.90 (40% of the applicable minimum wage).
Kansas $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Kentucky $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Louisiana $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Maine

$13.80 (Until 12/31/2023)

$14.15 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$6.90 (Until 12/31/2023)

$7.08 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $14.15 with maximum tip credit of $7.07 (50% of the applicable minimum wage).
Maryland

$12.80 (Until 12/31/2023)
(Less than 15 Employees)

$13.25 (Until 12/31/2023)
(15 or more Employees)

$15.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)
(Any Sized Employer)

$3.63 N/A
Massachusetts


$15.00 (Effective 1/1/2023)


$6.75 (Effective 1/1/2023)

N/A
Michigan


$10.10 (Until 12/31/2023)

$10.33 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$3.84 (Until 12/31/2023)

$3.93 (Effective 1/1/2024)


Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $10.33 with maximum tip credit of $6.40 (38% of the applicable minimum wage). 

Minnesota

$8.63 (Until 12/31/2023)(Companies earning gross revenue less than 500k) 

$10.59 (Until 12/31/2023)(Companies earning gross revenue of more than 500k)

$8.85 (Effective 1/1/2024)(Companies earning gross revenue less than 500k) 

$10.85 (Effective 1/1/2024)(Companies earning gross revenue of more than 500k) 

$8.63 (Until 12/31/2023)(Companies earning gross revenue less than 500k) 

$10.59 (Until 12/31/2023)(Companies earning gross revenue of more than 500k)

$8.85 (Effective 1/1/2024)(Companies earning gross revenue less than 500k) 

$10.85 (Effective 1/1/2024)(Companies earning gross revenue of more than 500k)

N/A
Mississippi $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Missouri


$12.00 (Until 12/31/2023)

$12.30 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$6.00 (Until 12/31/2023)

$6.15 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Retail or Service businesses earning less than $500,000 a year are not covered by the state minimum.

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $12.30 with maximum tip credit of $6.15 (50% of the applicable minimum wage).
Montana


$9.95 (Until 12/31/2023)

$10.30 (Effective 1/1/2024)

$9.95 (Until 12/31/2023)

$10.30 (Effective 1/1/2024)
Businesses that are not covered by the FLSA with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less are subject to a minimum wage of $4.00 per hour.
Nebraska


$10.50 (Until 12/31/2023)

$12.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$2.13

N/A
Nevada

$10.25 (Effective 7/1/2023)
(Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)

$11.25 (Effective 7/1/2023)
(NOT Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)

$10.25 (Effective 7/1/2023)
(Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)

$11.25 (Effective 7/1/2023)
(NOT Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)

Starting July 1, 2024, there will be a uniform minimum wage of $12.00 per hour for all employees.
New Hampshire $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$3.27

Tipped wages are 55% of the applicable minimum wage.

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $7.25 with maximum tip credit of $3.98 (45% of the applicable minimum wage).

New Jersey


$14.13 (Until 12/31/2023)

$15.13 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$5.26 (Effective 1/1/2023)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $15.13 with maximum tip credit of $9.87.
New Mexico


$12.00 (Effective 1/1/2023)


$3.00 (Effective 1/1/2023)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $12.00 with maximum tip credit of $9.00.
New York


$14.20 (Until 12/31/2023)

$15.00 (Until 12/31/2023)
(In New York City and Long Island / Westchester)

$15.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)

$16.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)
(In New York City and Long Island / Westchester / Nassau Counties)

Varies N/A
North Carolina $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
North Dakota $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$4.86 Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $7.25 with maximum tip credit of $2.39 (33% of the applicable minimum wage).
Ohio


$10.10 (Until 12/31/2023)

$10.45 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$5.05 (Until 12/31/2023)

$5.25 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Employers with gross revenue or receipts of $372,000 or less are permitted to pay employees the federal minimum wage.
Oklahoma $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
[10 or more full-time same location employees or employer grosses more than 100k per year]
$2.13 All other employees are subject to a minimum wage of $2.00, except those covered by FLSA, who are subject to federal minimum wage.
Oregon

$14.20 Standard
(Effective 7/1/2023)

$15.45 (Portland)
(Effective 7/1/2023)

$13.20 (Non-Urban Counties)
(Effective 7/1/2023)

Same

N/A
Pennsylvania $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.83 Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $7.25 with maximum tip credit of $4.42.
Rhode Island


$13.00 (Until 12/31/2023)

$14.00 (Effective 1/1/2024)

$3.89 Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $14.00 with maximum tip credit of $10.11
South Carolina $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
South Dakota

$10.80 (Until 12/31/2023)

$11.20 (Effective 1/1/2024)


$5.40 (Until 12/31/2023)

$5.60 (Effective 1/1/2024)

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $11.20 with maximum tip credit of $5.60 (50% of the applicable minimum wage).
Tennessee $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Texas $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 With specified restrictions, employers may count tips and the value of meals and lodging toward the minimum wage
Utah $7.25
(Federal Minimum)
$2.13 N/A
Vermont


$13.18 (Until 12/31/2023)

$13.67 (Effective 1/1/2024)

$6.59 (Until 12/31/2023)

$6.84 (Effective 1/1/2024)
Employers with 2 or more employees qualify for overtime, except for some industry-specific exemptions.
Virginia


$12.00 (Effective 1/1/2023)

$2.13 N/A
Washington


$15.74 (Until 12/31/2023)

$17.27 (Until 12/31/2023)
(Seattle)

$17.54 (Until 12/31/2023)
(SeaTac)

$16.28 (Effective 1/1/2024)

$19.97 (Effective 1/1/2024)
(Seattle)

$19.71 (Effective 1/1/2024)
(SeaTac)

$15.74 (Until 12/31/2023)

$16.28 (Effective 1/1/2024)

N/A
West Virginia

$7.25
(Less than 6 employees)

$8.75
(6 or more employees)

$2.62 Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $8.75 with maximum tip credit of $6.13 (70% of the applicable minimum wage).
Wisconsin

$7.25
(Federal Minimum)

$2.33

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $7.25 with maximum tip credit of $4.92.
Wyoming $7.25
(Federal Minimum) 

$5.15 (If not covered by FLSA)
$2.13 N/A
       
Guam $9.25 $9.25 Tip credits may not be used to meet the minimum wage.
Puerto Rico $9.50 $2.13  
Virgin Islands $10.50 $4.20

Combined cash & tip minimum wage rate is $10.50 with maximum tip credit of $6.30 (40% of the applicable minimum wage).

 

Upcoming Minimum Wage Increases in 2024

Below is a table outlining upcoming increases to minimum wage by state and when these changes are effectively taking place to help employers stay ahead of what's coming and be proactive with compliance for wage and hour laws. 

STATE CURRENT MINIMUM WAGE UPCOMING MINIMUM WAGE EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGE
Oregon (Standard) $14.20 TBD July 1, 2024
Oregon (Portland) $15.45 TBD July 1, 2024
Oregon (Non-Urban) $13.20 TBD July 1, 2024
Nevada
(Employees Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)
$10.25 $12.00 July 1, 2024
Nevada
(Employees NOT Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)
$11.25 $12.00 July 1, 2024
District of Columbia (D.C.) $17.00 TBD July 1, 2024
Florida $12.00 $13.00 September 30, 2024

 

Reminder: Each time minimum wage changes, employers are required to raise standard pay rates for employees to the new minimum wage required and begin compensating employees from the effective date of change, which should be reflected in the next scheduled pay date on the employee's pay stub. Also, employers must display new state labor law posters for employees in the workplace. 

 

2024 Minimum Wage Increases

Below is a table outlining recent state minimum wages increases that were required for employers to comply with from earlier this year. 

STATE CURRENT MINIMUM WAGE UPCOMING MINIMUM WAGE EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGE
Alaska $10.85 $11.73 January 1, 2024
Arizona $13.85 $14.35 January 1, 2024
California $15.50 $16.00 January 1, 2024
Colorado $13.65 $14.42 January 1, 2024
Connecticut $15.00 $15.69 January 1, 2024
Delaware $11.75 $13.25 January 1, 2024
Hawaii $12.00 $14.00 January 1, 2024
Illinois $13.00 $14.00 January 1, 2024
Maine $13.80 $14.15 January 1, 2024
Maryland - <15 Employees  $12.80 $15.00 January 1, 2024
Maryland - 15 or More Employees $13.25 $15.00 January 1, 2024
Michigan $10.10 $10.33 January 1, 2024
Minnesota Small Employer
(Gross revenue < $500,000)
$8.63  $8.85 January 1, 2024
Minnesota Large Employer
(Gross revenue > $500,000)
$10.59 $10.85 January 1, 2024
Missouri $12.00 $12.30 January 1, 2024
Montana $9.95 $10.30 January 1, 2024
Nebraska $10.50 $12.00 January 1, 2024
New Jersey $14.13 $15.13 January 1, 2024
New York - New York City  $15.00 $16.00 January 1, 2024
New York - Long Island $15.00 $16.00 January 1, 2024
New York - Westchester County $15.00 $16.00 January 1, 2024
New York - Rest of State $14.20 $15.00 January 1, 2024
Ohio $10.10 $10.45 January 1, 2024
Rhode Island $13.00 $14.00 January 1, 2024
South Dakota $10.80 $11.20 January 1, 2024
Vermont $13.18 $13.67 January 1, 2024
Washington $15.74 $16.28 January 1, 2024
Washington (Seattle) $17.27 $19.97 January 1, 2024
Washington (SeaTac) $17.54 $19.71 January 1, 2024

 

2023 Minimum Wage Increases

Below is a table outlining state minimum wages increases that were required for employers to comply with from last year. 

STATE PAST MINIMUM WAGE CURRENT MINIMUM WAGE DATE OF CHANGE
Florida $11.00 $12.00 September 30, 2023
District of Columbia $16.50 $17.00 July 1, 2023
Nevada
(Employees Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)
$9.50 $10.25 July 1, 2023
Nevada
(Employees NOT Offered Qualifying Health Benefits / Insurance)
$10.50 $11.25 July 1, 2023
Oregon (Non-Urban Counties) $12.50 $13.20 July 1, 2023
Oregon (Standard) $13.50 $14.20 July 1, 2023
Oregon (Portland) $14.75 $15.45 July 1, 2023
Puerto Rico $8.50 $9.50 July 1, 2023
Connecticut $14.00 $15.00 June 1, 2023
Alaska $10.34 $10.85 January 1, 2023
Arizona $12.80 $13.85 January 1, 2023
California (Less Than 26 Employees) $14.00 $15.50 January 1, 2023
California (26 or more Employees) $15.00 $15.50 January 1, 2023
Colorado $12.56 $13.65 January 1, 2023
Delaware $10.50 $11.75 January 1, 2023
Illinois $12.00 $13.00 January 1, 2023
Maine $12.75 $13.80 January 1, 2023
Maryland (<15 Employees) $12.20 $12.80 January 1, 2023
Maryland (15 or more Employees) $12.50 $13.25 January 1, 2023
Massachusetts $14.25 $15.00 January 1, 2023
Michigan $9.87 $10.10 January 1, 2023
Minnesota (Companies earning gross revenue less than $500k) $8.42 $8.63 January 1, 2023
Minnesota (Companies earning gross revenue of more than $500k) $10.33 $10.59 January 1, 2023
Missouri $11.15 $12.00 January 1, 2023
Montana $9.20 $9.95 January 1, 2023
Nebraska (Less than 4 employees) $7.25 $10.50 January 1, 2023
Nebraska (4 or more employees) $9.00 $10.50 January 1, 2023
New Jersey $13.00 $14.13 January 1, 2023
New Mexico $11.50 $12.00 January 1, 2023
Ohio $9.30 $10.10 January 1, 2023
Rhode Island $12.25 $13.00 January 1, 2023
South Dakota $9.95 $10.80 January 1, 2023
Vermont $12.55 $13.18 January 1, 2023
Virginia $11.00 $12.00 January 1, 2023
Washington $14.49 $15.74  January 1, 2023
Washington (Seattle) $14.49 $17.27 January 1, 2023
Washington (SeaTac) $14.49 $17.54 January 1, 2023

 

^Back to Top^


This information was last reviewed and / or updated as of January 2, 2024.  


Ready to find the provider of your dreams?

Give us some basic information about yourself and your business goals, and we'll help you find the ideal provider for your unique situation, industry, location, etc.